Reflection Week 10 Final Project Rubric

After reading my classmates’ posts I feel better emboldened to try out rough draft of my final project. I think I have a strong enough grasp on the concepts to say that I can meet the expectation on the rubric. I’ll work on exceeding the expectation as I move forward.

eduopolyproperty-cards

Clear purpose: The game, Monopoly will guide the students through the coursework as they practice learning skills in Word, Excel, Access and PowerPoint.

(Insert course learning objectives here.)

Narrative context/Storyline: The course is Computer Concepts in Business Applications. I’ll develop a story that incorporates the monopoly concept. Perhaps the little guy with the monocle has had too long of a run as chief monopolizer and we’re going to see who gets to replace him. Of COURSE students can either pick their game piece or create their game piece.

Well-organized, risk oriented problem solving: Students will complete challenges (activities) to gain pieces of property on the Monopoly board. There can be a choice of challenges. Current assessments will be broken into small chunks. This part will take much more development.

Engaging and motivating: A choice of activities of varying difficulty.  I’m hoping the game elements: choosing a marker, keeping track of one’s progress, the ability to choose a set of topics at will, prove motivating and engagine.

Interactivity (Collaboration): Students will have a chance to interact with one another, particularly in the discussion portion of the class. Students will be able to work with others who are working on the same section of the course.

Skill scaffolding and mastery: Activities will be leveled, either by students choice or by students working their way through a set of activities.

Encouragement and Feedback: Feedback is given regularly. Students can re-do graded activities after feedback so that students can learn from mistakes. Feedback will be somewhat timely (within a week).

Utility: If all students are familiar with Monopoly, then that will certainly help. If they aren’t I’ll need explanations. After initial set up, I don’t see the game needing more administrative guidance than reminders and encouragement.

Comments

Wow, Aleta! This is great. I like your idea about making a rough draft/outline.
I read your comment about how you felt you were writing a novelette for the class. I think it’s OK to develop the story as you go along. And I don’t think story needs to be very complicated. My “story” for my class will be that we’re playing Monopoly. Context and connections are so important!

Hi Gerald,
Story doesn’t have to be the way we traditionally think of storylines. Maybe stories don’t go with math, but if we about connecting to our students’ experiences. (Prior knowledge!) I was math-phobic in high school. It made it hard to learn. Maybe if I had been distracted by another element I could have forgotten to be afraid. Adding elements that stretch us as teachers AND stretch our content could help students who struggle to connect.
I know my first inclination is to teach as I like to learn and I take my favorite methods for granted. My students hate to read their textbook. They want videos. I LOVE my textbook–it’s SO self-explanatory…to me. I’ve begun telling stories about the particular content using videos. “This week we’re working for a snow plowing company and we’re going to use our database to find out who hasn’t paid their bill…” It’s not the great novel, but it provides context that the majority of my students miss.

Hi Sarah,
I like your plan! You make it sound do-able. When I think of a final project I want to have something “final” but it really will be a draft, because we WILL be tweaking as we go along.

What about calling your Easter Eggs Calcium Carbonate (what eggshells are made up of) Challenges? 🙂

Leave a Reply

